St Petersburg, Concert Hall

The percussion ensemble Renaissance Percussion

The audience will be admitted 45 minutes before the start of the concert

The Renaissance Percussion ensemble comprising:
Arseny Shuplyakov
Mikhail Vedunkin
Dmitry Gabbasov
Yevgeny Zhikalov
Vladislav Ivanov
Dmitry Fyodorov
Tatiana Cheryomukhina
Vladimir Maslov
Gleb Logvinov
Fyodor Khandrikov
Grigory Zhuravlev

Aglaya Shuplyakova (flute alto)
Olga Volkova (electric violin)
Timur Martynov (trumpet)
Mikhail Afonkin (trumpet)
Stanislav Ilchenko (tube)
Alexander Ponomarev (trombone)
Mikhail Vinnitsky (trombone)
Alexander Dzhurri (trombone)
Yevgeny Borodavko (tuba)

works by Georgy Sviridov, Eduard Artemyev, Nebojša Živković, Edvard Grieg, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, Yan Frenkel, Andrew Lloyd Webber arranged by the Renaissance Percussion members

About the performers

The Renaissance Percussion ensemble was founded in 2005 by Vladislav Ivanov and Arseny Shuplyakov. It comprises percussion musicians of the Mariinsky Orchestra. In 2005 the ensemble gave its first concert performances in Russia and abroad and won 1st prize at the International Rachmaninoff Ensembles’ Competition in St Petersburg. In 2012, the ensemble again took 1st prize at that competition. Today the ensemble’s repertoire includes works from various eras and styles. One of the ensemble’s priorities is performing music by Russian and European classical composers in arrangements for melodic percussion instruments written by members of the ensemble Vladislav Ivanov and Arseny Shuplyakov themselves.

Age category 6+

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.