St Petersburg, Concert Hall

Russian National Youth Symphony Orchestra

Soloist: Konstantin Volostnov (organ)
Russian National Youth Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Jean-Christophe Spinosi

Maurice Ravel
Pavane pour une infante défunte

Claude Debussy
Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune

Paul Dukas
L’Apprenti sorcier

Maurice Ravel
La Valse

Camille Saint-Saëns
Symphony No. 3 in C minor, Op. 78

About the performers

Russian National Youth Symphony Orchestra was founded as part of the Culture national project, which was launched in 2018 with the support of the Presidential Grants Foundation and the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation.
The ensemble consists of 100 young performers aged from 22 to 28 and hailing from 20 regions of Russia. The first line up of the orchestra was formed following the All-Russian Young Orchestra Musicians Competition, which was organised by the Moscow State Philharmonic. More than 360 young musicians took part in the competition (2018).

Unlike most youth ensembles, Russian National Youth Symphony Orchestra operates all year round as a concert ensemble and an educational platform. Musicians perform with and study under such conductors as Valery Gergiev, Vasily Petrenko, Michail Jurowski, Alexander Lazarev, Alexander Sladkovsky, and Jean-Christophe Spinosi, as well as concertmasters of various Russian and European orchestras, experts in ensemble performance, orchestral peculiarities, and historic performance genres. In 2018–2019 season, the orchestra has collaborated with the concertmasters of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.
Information for June 2019

Age category 6+

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.