St Petersburg, The Musorgsky Hall

Two capitals: Moscow – St. Petersburg

Mariinsky New Music Ensemble comprising:
Alexei Krasheninnikov (violin)
Vartan Gnoro (viola)
Alexander Peresyshkin (cello)
Andrei Telkov (piano)
Anna Komarova (recorders)
Maria Arsenieva (flute)
Seraphima Verkholat (saxophone)
Sergei Buranov (percussion)
Daniil Ivanov (percussion)
Ilia Diakov (conductor)

Host: Daniil Shutko

Igor Drukh
Before the Storm

Alexander Khubeev
Somnambulicq for alto saxophone, live video and electronics

Alexander Popov
The Singing of Fish for piano trio

Dmitri Kourliandski
prePositions for violin solo

Alexander Knaifel
Diada, pentahedron for viola, flute, piano and percussion

Leonid Desyatnikov
Wie der alte Leiermann... for violin and piano

About the performers

The Mariinsky New Music Ensemble was founded in 2015 thanks to the efforts of a group of musicians of the Mariinsky Orchestra and with the support of Valery Gergiev. The ensemble comprises not just instrumentalists but professional composers as well (Alexei Krasheninnikov, Alexei Pozin and Vartan Gnoro), who combine their activities in the orchestra with writing music. Alexei Krasheninnikov (violin), the inspiration behind the ensemble, won 1st prize at the VI All-Russian Andrei Petrov Composition Competition (2012) and has been a member of the Union of Composers of St Petersburg since 2013.
The aim of the ensemble is to promote contemporary music at the Mariinsky Theatre and beyond, as well as to assimilate new musical language of the 20th and 21st centuries and new techniques of performing instruments. The works performed include opuses not just by St Petersburg composers but also the most interesting and trend-setting music by contemporary composers living and working in Russia and abroad.
Formed less than one year ago, the ensemble has already given several concerts in the chamber venues of the Mariinsky Theatre, to great acclaim performing works by such composers as George Crumb, Luciano Berio and René Staar as well as the young St Petersburg composers Anton Tanonov, Mehdi Hosseini, Nastasia Khrushcheva, Yuri Akbalkan, Artur Zobnin, Artur Vabel and Mikhail Krutik among others.

Age category 6+

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.