St Petersburg, Mariinsky Theatre

The Sleeping Beauty

one-act ballet

ballet by Pyotr Tchaikovsky


Princess Aurora: Alla Bocharova
Prince Désiré: Andrei Sorokin
The Lilac Fairy: Svetlana Svinko
Carabosse the Wicked Fairy: Svetlana Golovkina 
Catabalutte: Andrei Gudyma
King Florestan: Sergei Davydov
The Queen: Angelina Grigorieva

Running time 3 hours
The performance has two intervals

Age category 6+


Music by Pyotr Tchaikovsky
Libretto by Ivan Vsevolozhsky, Marius Petipa and Jean-Guillaume Bart
Choreography by Marius Petipa and Jean-Guillaume Bart
Set and costume design by Olga Shaishmelashvili
Lighting design by Evgeny Ganzburg

The St Petersburg State Academic Leonid Yacobson Ballet Theatre directed by Honoured Artist of Russia Andrian Fadeyev is a unique dance company. The theatre can take pride in its fifty-year history and is privileged to bear the name of one of the 20th century’s most outstanding Russian choreographers. Today, the St Petersburg State Academic Leonid Yacobson Ballet Theatre is one of the country’s greatest ballet companies and it has been a recipient of St Petersburg’s loftiest theatre award the Golden Sofit, Russia’s national theatre prize the Golden Mask and the prestigious Taglioni European Ballet Award.

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.

The highlighting of performances by age represents recommendations.

This highlighting is being used in accordance with Federal Law N436-FZ dated 29 December 2010 (edition dated 1 May 2019) "On the protection of children from information that may be harmful to their health"