St Petersburg, Concert Hall

Presentation concert of the Rimsky-Korsakov School of Music

Daria Dubovik (soprano)
Yelizaveta Sveshnikova (soprano)
Yelizaveta Mukhametova (violin)
Anna Chesnykh (cello)
Yelizaveta Kaptikova (domra)
Grigory Osipov (marimba)
Oleg Vainshtein (piano)
Sergei Yekimov (piano)
Anton Fyodorov (piano)

The Female Chorus of the St Petersburg Rimsky-Korsakov School of Music
Artistic Director: Sergei Yekimov

The Algirdas Paulavičius Youth Symphony Orchestra of the St Petersburg Rimsky-Korsakov School of Music
Conductor: Alexei Vasiliev

Appa Radzhabov
Piano Concerto, Op. 1 (1st movement)

Alexander Glazunov
Chant du ménestrel for cello and orchestra, Op. 71

Henryk Wieniawski
Polonaise brillante in D Major for violin and orchestra, Op. 4

Frédéric Chopin
Ballade No 3 in A Flat Major, Op. 47

Ney Rosauro
Marimba Concerto No 1, Op. 12 (4th movement Despedida (“Farewell”)

Pyotr Tchaikovsky
Russian Dance from the ballet Swan Lake

Johann Strauss
Adele’s couplets from the operetta Die Fledermaus

Sergei Yekimov
Elegiac Music to Yuri Falik’s Memory for soprano, female chorus, piano and chamber orchestra

Sergei Prokofiev
Symphony No 5 in B Flat Major, Op. 100

About the performers

The Youth Symphony Orchestra of the St Petersburg Rimsky-Korsakov School of Music is an educational and concert ensemble.
For roughly a quarter of a century the orchestra’s activities were directly linked with the name of Algirdas Paulavičius who directed the ensemble until the end of 2007. Following Paulavičius’ untimely death his conducting baton was presented to Alexei Vasiliev, the college’s Principal. He is also the ensemble’s current Director. In March 2008 the Youth Symphony Orchestra was named after Algirdas Paulavičius.
In recent years the orchestra has frequently appeared at the Academic Cappella of St Petersburg, the Small Hall of the St Petersburg Philharmonic and the Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theatre. The ensemble’s tours have taken the musicians to Italy, Finland, Estonia, Lithuania and Belarus.
The orchestra’s repertoire consists of symphony music from various eras and styles, ranging from symphonies and concerti from the classical period to the latest contemporary works.

Age category 6+

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.