St Petersburg, Concert Hall


opera in one act
in concert



Principal Chorus Master: Andrei Petrenko
Vocal Coaches: Marina Mishuk, Leonid Zolotarev,
Oksana Klevtsova, Zhanna Trutko and Irina Trutko

Conductor: Valery Gergiev

Elektra: Olga Sergeyeva
Chrysothemis: Mlada Khudoley
Clytemnestra: Elena Vitman
Orest: Yevgeny Nikitin
Aegisth: Vasily Gorshkov
Age category 12+


Music by Richard Strauss



All of Elektra´s thoughts are focussed on avenging the death of her father Agamemnon, killed by his wife Clytemnestra and her lover Aegisth. She avoids all communication with the murderers, patiently bearing the cruel treatment of her stepfather and the servants´ ridicule; she lives among the dogs and remains true to her decision to be a living reproof in this house, where the crime was committed. She awaits her brother Orest and hopes he will punish the evil couple. With a threatening expression on her face she openly declares to Clytemnestra that all her thoughts and desires are aimed at killing her and Aegisth with Orest´s help. At the same time two travellers arrive with news of Orest´s death. Elektra then begs her sister Chrysothemis to help her in her mission of revenge but Chrysothemis pulls away in terror. Elektra is filled with determination to carry out her plan alone and digs up the axe with which Aegisth killed Agamemnon. A stranger enters. Although his unusual tone initially troubles Elektra, she soon recognises him to be her brother when the old servants fall at his knees. One calls on Orest to act, and together they enter the queen´s palace. In a state of extreme anxiety, Elektra keeps watch at the gates and runs back and forth like a caged animal. Clytemnestra´s piercing scream is heard from inside the palace. When Aegisth returns home, with sly cordiality Elektra meets him and tells him that there are two messengers in the palace with "the mistress" who have brought news of Orest´s death. Aegisth enters the palace where Orest kills him. In ecstasy, Elektra begins a triumphant dance. "Those as happy as we can only be silent and dance!" She makes a few convulsive movements and then falls to the ground, lifeless.

Running time 1 hours 55 minutes
The Performance without an interval

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.

The highlighting of performances by age represents recommendations.

This highlighting is being used in accordance with Federal Law N436-FZ dated 29 December 2010 (edition dated 1 May 2019) "On the protection of children from information that may be harmful to their health"