St Petersburg, Concert Hall

Russian Musical Anthology
Soloists of the St Petersburg House of Music

Part I
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy. Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor, op. 49
Sergei Rakhmaninov. Trio elegiaque (Elegiac) No. 1 in G minor for piano, violin and cello (1892)
Dmitry Shostakovich. Piano Trio No. 1 in C minor, op. 8 (1923)
Performed by Juventa trio


Part II
Dmitry Shostakovich. String Quartet No. 8 in C minor, op. 110 (1960)
Malcolm Arnold. String Quartet No. 2, Op. 118 (1975)
Performed by Modus quartet

Juventa trio  Juventa trio
Sergei Redkin (piano)
Alexei Osipov (violin)
Nikita Kinyaev (cello)


Alexei Osipov, Nikita Kinyaev and Sergei Redkin are students of the Specialised School of Music of the St Petersburg State Rimsky-Korsakov Conservatoire, class of Professor Ye. V. Semishina.
The trio regularly appears at various concert venues in St Petersburg. In February 2008 they appeared at the Those of the Same Age Assembly of Arts for Children and Teenagers in Novgorod, followed by a performance in June 2008 at the opening of the Elena Obraztsova Competition, while in October that year, the trio appeared at a concert organised by the Vladimir Spivakov Foundation in Moscow.
In October 2007, the trio appeared on tour to Switzerland (Zurich, Bern, Geneva), and in 2008 they travelled to Germany.
In 2008 the Juventa trio became a prize-winner at the I International Window on Europe Competition and Festival (St Petersburg).
In February 2008 the trio received third prize at the International Competition Dmitry Shostakovich Chamber Ensemble Competition (Moscow).
In November 2008, the Juventa trio was a prize-winner at the International New Names Competition (Moscow).
Juventa has received a student grant from the Russian Performing Arts foundation.




Квартет «Модус»   

Modus quartet
International competition prize-winners:
Anna Fenster – fourth year student at the St Petersburg Conservatoire (class of senior lecturer A. M. Laukhina)
Maria Boltovskaya – fourth year student at the St Petersburg Conservatoire (class of Professor M. Kh. Gantvarg)
Alexei Ageyev – 2005 graduate of the St Petersburg Conservatoire (class of Professor V. I. Stopichev)
Vladimir Gavryushov – 2005 graduate of the St Petersburg Conservatoire (class of Professor Zagursky), works with the State Academic Symphony Orchestra of St Petersburg

The Modus quartet was established in 2004. Its Artistic Director is Ilya Levinzon, professor at the St Petersburg State Conservatoire, Honoured Artist of Russia and musician of the Taneyev Quartet.
The quartet has appeared at various concert venues of St Petersburg: in spring 2006 they took second place at a competition celebrating one century since the birth of Dmitry Shostakovich, and in summer the same year, the quartet took part in the international festival Summer in Terioki 2006 (Zelenogorsk). The quartet has taken part in international master classes given by the Fitz-Williams Quartet.
Their repertoire includes works by composers ranging from Haydn to Bartók as well as works by contemporary composers.Soloists of the St Petersburg House of Music perform to great acclaim at the Russian Youth Culture in Italy festival which is run in Venice. As part of the festival, the Modus quartet gave three concerts in June 2008.On the recommendation of the St Petersburg House of Music, the quartet was invited on 21 May 2009 to the Palazzo Vendramin Calergi to participate in a soirée of music and poetry entitled A Tribute to Joseph Brodsky with a programme of works the great poet adored, the concert taking place as part of the "twin towns" programme, the curator of which was Svetlana Vladimirovna Medvedeva, wife of the Russian President.

Age category 6+

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.