Vyacheslav Okunev


Set designer and costume designer

• People’s Artist of Russia (2011)

Vyacheslav Okunev was born in Leningrad in 1957. In 1979 he graduated from the Stage Production Faculty of the Cherkasov Leningrad State Institute of Theatre, Music and Film (workshop of Ilya Segal).

As a set and costume designer he has worked on more than three hundred and fifty productions.

For many years he has collaborated with the Mariinsky Theatre; his works there include Giselle (1978), The Story of Kai and Gerda (1980), The Government Inspector (1980), La Sylphide (1981), Pétrouchka (1990), The Love for Three Oranges (1991), Coppélia (1992), Anna Karenina (1993), Kashchey the Immortal (1993), Mavra (1995), Les Noces (1997), Le nozze di Figaro (1998), The Young Lady and the Hooligan (2001), Il barbiere di Siviglia (2009), Eugene Onegin (2014, Primorsky Stage), The Sleeping Beauty (2017, Primorsky Stage), Die Fledermaus (2020; and in 2021 at the Republic of North Ossetia–Alania Branch of the Mariinsky Theatre in Vladikavkaz), The Maid of Orleans (2021), Benvenuto Cellini (2021). Has revived the sets for Fyodor Fedorovsky’s productions of Khovanshchina (1989) and The Maid of Pskov (2008), Konstantin Korovin’s production of Sadko (1993), Pyotr Schildknecht’s production of Aida (1998), Nina Tikhonova and Nikolai Melnikov’s production of Prince Igor (2001) and Alexander Konstantinovsky’s production of Mazepa (2009).

Vyacheslav Okunev is Principal Designer of the Mikhailovsky Theatre. Productions on which he has worked at this theatre include The Tale of Tsar Saltan, The Tsar’s Bride, La traviata, Otello, Rigoletto, Tosca, Carmen, Il barbiere di Siviglia, Die Csárdásfürstin, Die Fledermaus, Faust, Don Giovanni, Iolanta, Don Quixote, La Bayadère, The Sleeping Beauty, Swan Lake, The Nutcracker, Raymonda, Giselle and Spartacus among others. He has also worked on productions performed by the Boris Eifman Ballet Theatre, the St Petersburg Chamber Opera, the Leonid Yakobson Ballet Theatre, the Lensoviet Theatre (St Petersburg) and the Novosibirsk, Samara, Krasnoyarsk and Saratov opera and ballet theatres. The artist has collaborated with the Opera and Ballet Theatre of the St Petersburg Conservatory, the Yekaterinburg and Perm opera and ballet theatres, the Rostov Musical Theatre, St Petersburg and Yekaterinburg’s musical comedy theatres and the Zazerkalye theatre (St Petersburg). At the Bolshoi Theatre of Russia Vyacheslav Okunev has designed for productions of La Sylphide, Russian Hamlet and Khovanshchina.

The designer has worked outside Russia a great deal, including at the Vienna State Opera, the Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin, the Israeli Opera (Tel Aviv), the Theatre Royal in Glasgow, the Greek National Opera (Athens), the Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera (Warsaw), the Hungarian State Opera (Budapest), the National Theater of Korea (Seoul), New York City Ballet, the Bolshoi Opera and Ballet Theatre of the Republic of Belarus (Minsk) and the New National Theatre, Tokyo. Productions designed by Vyacheslav Okunev have been presented at several Italian venues, among them the Teatro alla Scala, the Arena di Verona and the Teatro Lirico di Cagliari.

Recipient of the State Prizes of the Republics of Moldova, Belarus and Kazakhstan. Recipient of the Golden Sofit, St Petersburg’s most prestigious theatre award, in 2020 for his set and costume designs for Fiddler on the Roof directed by Lev Rakhlin (the Baltic House Theatre-Festival).
Information for July 2022

Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.
user_nameExit

Вячеслав Окунев


 

Художник-постановщик, художник по костюмам

Народный художник России (2011)

Вячеслав Окунев родился в 1957 году в Ленинграде. В 1979-м окончил постановочный факультет Ленинградского государственного института театра, музыки и кинематографии им. Н. К. Черкасова (мастерская Ильи Сегаля).

Как художник-постановщик и художник по костюмам осуществил более 350 постановок.

В течение многих лет сотрудничает с Мариинским театром: работал над спектаклями «Жизель» (1978), «История Кая и Герды» (1980), «Ревизор» (1980), «Сильфида» (1981), «Петрушка» (1990), «Любовь к трем апельсинам» (1991), «Коппелия» (1992), «Анна Каренина» (1993), «Кащей Бессмертный» (1993), «Мавра» (1995), «Свадебка» (1997), «Свадьба Фигаро» (1998), «Барышня и хулиган» (2001), «Севильский цирюльник» (2009), «Евгений Онегин» (2014, Приморская сцена), «Спящая красавица» (2017, Приморская сцена), «Летучая мышь» (2020; в 2021-м – в филиале Мариинского театра во Владикавказе), «Орлеанская дева» (2021). Возобновил декорации Федора Федоровского к «Хованщине» (1989) и «Псковитянке» (2008), Константина Коровина к «Садко» (1993), Петра Шильдкнехта к «Аиде» (1998), Нины Тихоновой и Николая Мельникова к «Князю Игорю» (2001), Александра Константиновского к «Мазепе» (2009).

Вячеслав Окунев – главный художник Михайловского театра. В числе спектаклей, оформленных им в Михайловском театре, – «Сказка о царе Салтане», «Царская невеста», «Травиата», «Отелло», «Риголетто», «Тоска», «Кармен», «Севильский цирюльник», «Сильва», «Летучая мышь», «Фауст», «Дон Жуан», «Иоланта», балет «Дон Кихот», «Баядерка», «Спящая красавица», «Лебединое озеро», «Щелкунчик», «Раймонда», «Жизель», «Спартак» и др. Оформленные им спектакли идут также в Театре балета Бориса Эйфмана, театре «Санктъ-Петербургъ Опера», Театре балета им. Леонида Якобсона, Театре им. Ленсовета, Новосибирском, Самарском, Красноярском и Саратовском театрах оперы и балета. Художник сотрудничал с Театром оперы и балета Санкт-Петербургской консерватории, Екатеринбургским и Пермским театрами оперы и балета, Ростовским музыкальным театром, петербургским и екатеринбургским Театрами музыкальной комедии, театром «Зазеркалье». В Большом театре России Вячеслав Окунев оформил спектакли «Сильфида», «Русский Гамлет», «Хованщина».

Художник много работал за рубежом, в том числе в Венской государственной опере, берлинской Государственной опере Унтер-ден-Линден, Израильской опере (Тель-Авив), Королевском театре Глазго, Национальной опере Греции (Афины), Большом театре – Национальной опере (Варшава), Венгерском государственном оперном театре (Будапешт), Национальном театре Кореи (Сеул), Новом национальном театре в Токио, Нью-Йорк Сити балете, Большом театре оперы и балета Республики Беларусь (Минск). Спектакли, оформленные Вячеславом Окуневым, шли на нескольких итальянских площадках: Ла Скала, Арена-ди-Верона, Оперный театр Кальяри.

Лауреат Государственных премий Республик Молдова, Беларусь и Казахстан. Удостоен Высшей театральной премии Санкт-Петербурга «Золотой софит» (2020) за сценографию и костюмы к спектаклю «Скрипач на крыше» в постановке Льва Рахлина (театр-фестиваль «Балтийский дом»).
Информация на ноябрь 2021 года

Любое использование либо копирование материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления запрещено без разрешения правообладателя.
user_nameВыход